Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:58 p.m. - 2005-08-03
Beware of dog... Forget the dog, beware of owner.
So much has happened. So much, and yet, as I sit here, finally updating an almost forgotten diary, so little comes to mind.


One of my favorite things thats happened was the day after Jon and Shelly's annaversary. They had gone to Fasion bug. Shelly bought a lavender evening dress. It was originally $120. She paid $20. The next night me, shannon, my mom, and shelly made the hour long trip up to Fasion bug.

I don't think I've ever told any of the people who read this about the headaches I used to have in school. I really don't want to go into detail, nor do I want to elaborate on why my parents made the decision to home school me at the age of 15. I only say it so you will know I never had the chance to go to my prom. I wasn't too heartbroken, I was a wallflower who didn't like to dance. But When my best friend showed me her prom dress when I was 17, I cried.

I guess I just wanted the experience. To have a magical evening that I would never forget. To but a formal and have my hair done at a salon with all my friends. But I didn't do any of that.

Shannon had taken me to a store in the mall, it was filled with the most beautiful prom dresses I had ever seen, but as soon as I walked in I instantly found the most beautiful of them all, A two-toned, pink, embroidered satin, full length, spaghetti strapped ballgown that crisscrossed against the fabric in the back. I didn't even try it on, I got teary and asked if we could go to another store. I knew that if I couldnt have the prom experience, then I didn't even want to pretend, so I forgot about the whole thing. Until the other night.

There we are, Mom and Shannon at one side and me and Shelly at the other. There was one she wanted to show me. I was skeptical. It was then that I saw it, the most beautiful dress. The two-toned pink dress, It was almost the same as it had been 4 years ago. The style was a little more modernized, and it was stunning. It also fit like a glove. It was less than $15. Its hanging in a dress bag in my closet.

I'm not all that sentimental, or emotional, or heck, even romantic. I have my moments though. This was like fullfilling a dream. The strangest thing was that I didn't feel like I was going to the prom. I felt like I was going to the ball. I've never felt so pretty in my life. You think the past is behind you, but everytime you let yourself look back its still there, still fresh in your mind.

My dress. I might never wear it. But I will always have that beautiful pink dress I was too upset to try on in the mall when I was 17.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!