Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:40 a.m. - 2005-05-28
The long and the short of it.
Several things of significance happened to me today. First, I was talked into donating blood at the red cross drive on wednesday. Everytime I've ever had blood work done it takes 2 people about 45 minutes to find a good vein, so I had no intention of going through that, plus, stephanie would kill me if i was away from the register for that long. However, Heather got talked into doing it, and she REALLY didn't want to go alone, so she got special permission from human resources so i could go in with her (to hold her hand and wonder why she agreed to do this in the first place) on the condition that I had to give blood too. I haven't decided whether or not I'm excited about this. I've always wanted to donate blood, but I tend to make nurses really mad. Or, rather, my veins do.

I was sitting down in the breakroom this morning when heather came in and announced that I needed to go up to georgia's office after my break. Panic set in. I don't know why, my concience was clear, but ever since I was little I have that, "oh my gosh, i'm in trouble" thought that passes through my mind when I'm called to a supervisors office. I've never been repromanded in said office, but I guess I still get freaked when it happens. I half jokingly asked her if I was in trouble. I wasn't, and she asked Ann the same thing when Ann told her to go up.

Then it clicked, I was about to get my very first annual raise! I've never walked up faster through shipping, distribution, the mailroom, and the corporate office hallways. I tried to hold back the grin while I quickly seated myself beside stephanie, in front of georgias desk. It was the most pleasant "office" experience I've ever had. Sitting at the recieving end of a desk, waiting to be handed a raise, is possibly the most fun you can ever have at work. The rest of the day was much easyer to go through after that.

Today was Angelena's last day. She's a temp we have had over the last 6 weeks. I don't know why but we seemed to click in about two and a half seconds. So, I told her I wanted to talk to her right before I left. I wanted to give her my phone number in case she ever wanted to talk, but I knew if i gave it to her before the last time i would ever see her, i would be embarrassed. I'm really gonna miss her. Now I wont have anyone to joke around with. I really miss Sue for that, too. It was nice to have a buddy at work. Everyone should have at least one. I will have to advertise in the paper:

Outlet store employee seeks work buddy.

Qualifications:
Must be friendly, approachable, willing to start conversations, and able to take a joke.

Send resume to following address ASAP.


I cried at work today. For the first time in my life. A woman came in with her two young grandchildren. After shopping a bit, the woman asked Ann if we had a bathroom for one of her grandaughters. (our bathroom is shared with distribution,so its about a hundred feet past the customer border.) Ann told her no, and she told her why, and that if she wanted she could leave her cart and go down to a fast food place and then come back.

Then she went to stephanie, asked the same question, got the same answer, took her grandaughters hand, and bruskly walked out the front door, yelling at me "I cant BELIEVE you don't have a bathroom!" Two minutes after she was gone, I noticed something that made me want to burst into flames. The other grandaughter was still there.

She was 9 years old, left in the middle of a large, busy, understaffed outlet store, with no word to us that she was there. I started to shake and get teary. It was everything I could do not to call security. Ann came over and I told her what was going on. She said not to worry about it and that she would watch her. The woman came back, 15 minutes later.

It wasn't about her being watched, it was the fact that that woman thought it was ok to leave a little girl all alone in a public place. I won't even leave my nieces in the toy department alone. Thats how kids get kidnapped. I didn't call security, and I think I will regret that for the rest of my life. If nothing else he could have come down and stood with her, and then told that woman when she got back that it wasn't a good idea to do something like that. It might have made her think, made her realize she had made a mistake that could have potentiolly lost her grandaughters life. People like that don't deserve to have kids....

My dad got to see Erik. HE told me on the way home from work today, and I lit up at the mention of his name, and thouroughly enjoyed the story. My dad was trying to buy a cd drive, and when he had a question, he called erik, cause he had been helping my dad fix up their computer. Five minutes before he called, Eriks truck went off the road. So my dad went over and told him exactly whet to do, and within no time he was back on the road. I miss him already, so much. Every single time he leaves I feel like ive just lost part of my soul. I feel gloomy and depressed, like a silly schoolgirl longing for this weeks crush. But Erik has been on my mind and in my heart for years now, doesn't that give me some right to miss him?

I don't care if I'm crazy, or if it's hopeless, I still love him and I always will. I'm not going to be old and gray never knowing love, I know it very well. My heart has been in the company of painful love for some time now, and is not ready to give it up anytime soon. It holds on to that one, tiny spark that makes it's life complete. It is only a wisper, a faint breeze, but it is there.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!